Hamish MacBeth Mysteries

Highland Scottish detective Hamish Macbeth, P.C., is the creation of M.C. Beaton, author of the popular Agatha Raisin mystery series. Laid-back, red haired, and gangly, with a mind like a steel trap, he is the sole constable of the small village of Lochdubh (pronounced Loch-doo) in the northwestern Highlands of present-day Scotland. Sending money home to help support his younger brothers and sisters, he mooches coffee from the local hotel, keeps chickens and sheep behind the police station where he lives with his mongrel dog Towser, who often eats better than he does, and poaches fish to survive on what is left of his meager salary.

In Death of a Gossip, the first book of the series, Hamish Macbeth must find the killer of Lady Jane Hamilton, a gossip columnist for a tabloid newspaper. Supposedly in Lochdubh to attend a local fishing school for beginning anglers, the columnist is really there to dig up dirt on the other students. When her strangled body is fished out of the river, everyone in the class is a suspect. A Detective Inspector is dispatched from Strathbane CID to investigate, but Hamish, unwilling to take a back seat, solves the case.

A light, humorous, fun read, filled with snappy dialog, Death of a Gossip is just the thing for a lazy afternoon, a long plane ride, or a rainy day.

Note: As of this post, there are twenty-six books in the Hamish MacBeth mystery series with a good deal of character development along the way. It’s best if you read them in order.

Published in: on August 7, 2010 at 12:03 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mtlogan.wordpress.com/2010/08/07/have-you-met-hamish-macbeth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great premise (and title) for a first book in a series. Who doesn’t love a fun fast read with gossip and intrigue?

    • Hi Robin,
      I love these books. Let me know what you think.

  2. I hate to admit it, but I’ve never read one of these mysteries. I think it’s about time I did, because Hamish sounds like a great character. Thanks!

    • Pat,
      Glad to oblige. Let me know what you think.

  3. And my list of “must-reads” grows ever longer…

    • I know exactly what you mean!

  4. I love M. C. Beaton–Agatha and Hamish both! I wonder if she ever has or ever will have Agatha and Hamish work together?

    Because I love your blog, I’ve awarded you the Lovely Blogger Award! Come to my web site and pick it up!

    MA

    • Marian,
      I’m absolutely overwhelmed! Thank you so very much for the award.

      As for Agatha Raisin and Hamish MacBeth ever teaming up together to solve a mystery, M. C. Beaton hasn’t done it so far. They are such independent folks, I really can’t see them working together. But stranger things have happened. It would definitely be hilarious. Maybe you could write a spoof?

  5. I am a huge M C Beaton fan. I like reading about life
    in the Costwolds and revere Agatha Raisin. Agatha is quite
    complex and has a sphinx like personality. Hamish Macbeth is another fantastic character.
    I love that these books are fast and can keep on reading them
    forever.


Leave a Reply

