Flavia de Luce Mysteries

Flavia de Luce, the creation of Alan Bradley, is an impudent, precocious, slightly malicious eleven-year-old. Quirky, funny, bold, brilliant, and utterly captivating, she is the youngest daughter of an aristocratic family in decline. While her father, Colonel de Luce, locks himself in his study all day working on his stamp collection and mourning the death of Flavia’s mother who was killed in a climbing accident in the Himalayas, her middle sister, Daphne, reads her way through the family library, and her oldest sister, Ophelia, moons over a handsome village boy, Flavia pursues her penchant for poisons in a chemistry lab that once belonged to her mother.

Winner of the Crime Writers Association Debut Dagger Award, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie is set in rural England in 1950 in the small, sleepy village of Bishop’s Lacey. The mystery begins when a dead snipe is found on the doorstep of Buckshaw, the family mansion, with a postage stamp impaled on its beak. The next morning, after overhearing her father arguing with an unknown man in his study the night before, Flavia stumbles across a nearly-dead man in the cucumber patch. With his last breath, he utters a Latin word, “Vale.” Fascinated, she waits for the police who kindly but firmly shunt her aside. But when they arrest her father, Flavia, determined to prove his innocence, sets out on her trusty bicycle, Gladys, to find the real killer.

An excellent mystery and laugh-out-loud funny, with well-developed, engaging characters, exotic poisons, rare stamps, and numerous red herrings, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie is a delightful read. I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mtlogan.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/flavia-de-luce-mysteries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Aw, this became an really good post. In thought I would like to devote writing such as this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make a really good article. But exactly what do I say? I procrastinate a lot and by no indicates find a way to get something completed.

    • Avis,
      Glad you liked the post and I hope you enjoy Flavia. As for writing, here’s my advice. Set aside a time to do it every day, sit down, and keep writing until you have something—anything. First drafts are always disappointing. Rewriting is the name of the game.

  2. I am re-reading Ellis Peters’ Cadfael series. Do so love her medieval mysteries!

    • Christi,
      Thanks for reminding me about Cadfael. I’ll have to go back and re-read them again myself.

      • I revisit Cadfael at least once every two years (as I do Sherlock Holmes and Agatha Christie.) just because I love their stories so well. I always seem to find something new that I find makes the books and stories better. 🙂

      • I always seem to find something new that I find makes the books and stories better.” And that’s what distinguishes great story-telling from the rest.

      • Amen. I love an author you can go back to again and again and find something new each time! (Oh, I ordered The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie from my library – cannot wait to get it!)

      • Christi,
        Happy reading! When you’ve finished, let me know what you think.

  3. Excellent blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Kudos!

    • Ted,
      Glad you liked my blog. I’d start with a free platform. I definitely like WordPress. They have a great selection of themes and helpful people who will answer your questions. I’ve been very satisfied with WordPress and I’ve had visitors from all over the world. I started out with a free platform and then began paying a low fee to keep ads off of my posts. Best of luck with your new blog!

  4. Admiring the dedication you put into your blog and in depth information you offer. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • Benita,
      Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  5. Superbly written post, if only all bloggers offered the same quality information as you, the internet would be a much better place. Please keep it up! Cheers.

    • Andree,
      Thanks. Glad you liked the post. Happy reading.


Leave a Reply

