Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries

Julia Spencer-FlemingThe Reverend Clare Fergusson and Chief of Police Russ Van Alstyne are the creations of Julia Spencer-Fleming. Clare, a former Army helicopter pilot turned Episcopalian priest from Virginia, is not your typical cleric. Single and in her mid-thirties, she is tomboyish, socially conscious, stubborn, courageous, and impulsive. Russ, a former Army MP and Vietnam Vet, is fourteen years older than Clare, tough, stubborn, streetwise, and married. The rapport between them is immediate.

In the Bleak MidwinterIn The Bleak Midwinter is the only book to win the Agatha, The Malice Domestic, Anthony, Dilys, Barry, and Macavity Awards for First Novel. In this series opener, Clare Fergusson, the newly ordained priest of St. Alban’s Episcopal Church in Millers Kill in upstate New York, discovers a newborn on the doorstep of the church. Pinned to its blanket is a note directing her to give the baby to a childless couple in her congregation who have been trying without success to adopt. The couple desperately want to give the newborn a home, but first, in order to comply with the law, Clare must find the baby’s mother. When she and Russ Van Alstyne discover her badly bruised body frozen in the snow, half-in, half-out of Millers Kill, the shallow river flowing from the Hudson that gives the town its name, they set out to find her killer.

A gritty, fast-paced traditional mystery with a strong plot, vivid writing, and complex, all-too-human characters, In The Bleak Midwinter is a great read.

Note: While any of the books in this excellent series exploring contemporary social issues can be read as a standalone, the continually developing storyline between Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne is so intertwined with the plot of each novel, it’s best if you read the books in order.

Published in: on March 27, 2013 at 10:30 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love this series, but sad it is so short! By that I mean I wish there were more books of this fabulous Episcopal priest/detective!! 🙂

    • Hi Christie!

      I know exactly what you mean. It’s a long wait between books. But a new addition to the series, Through the Evil Days, will be published on November 5, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: