Rabbi Aviva Cohen Mysteries

Rabbi Aviva Cohen is the creation of Rabbi Ilene Schneider. Fifty-something, twice-divorced, with family problems of her own, Aviva is the rabbi for the Congregation Mishkan Or. Independent and stubborn, with a self-deprecating sense of humor, she is also an avid birdwatcher.

In Chanukah Guilt, the first book in the series, Aviva has reluctantly agreed to officiate at the funeral of a wealthy land developer who hated all the other rabbis in town. Afterwards, the tycoon’s college-age daughter seeks Aviva’s counsel and tells her that her father was murdered. Aviva doesn’t believe her. When the girl commits suicide, Aviva sets out to discover the truth. But the return of her first ex-husband, who has been appointed acting police chief, complicates her investigation into the girl’s death.

A delightful cozy set in the town of Walford in New Jersey, Chanukah Guilt has plenty of plot twists and turns and a cast of quirky, fully-drawn characters with complicated relationships. It is definitely a fun read.

Note: While each book in the series can be read as a standalone, there are continually developing storylines involving Aviva, her ex-husband, her niece and her niece’s lover, and Aviva’s sister.

Published in: on August 6, 2017 at 9:18 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mtlogan.wordpress.com/2017/08/06/rabbi-aviva-cohen-mysteries/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: